Actual John Deere P-Tier Meaning, Line by Line
John Deere P-Tier meaning depends on the line: compact loaders moved from L-Series in 2023, excavators from G-Series starting in 2022.

Table of Contents
What P-Tier means on a John Deere machine
P-Tier is the middle tier of John Deere’s G, P and X naming, announced at CONEXPO-CON/AGG 2020, which replaced the generation letter. What it replaced depends on the product line.
Which old series became P-Tier, by product line
| Applies To (product line) | Predecessor named | P-Tier arrival | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Compact wheel loaders 244, 324, 344 | L-Series | May 16, 2023 | Deere release |
| Utility wheel loaders 444–724 | L-Series features carried over | 2021 | Deere launch text, trade reprint |
| Large loaders 744, 824, 844, 904 | Deere compares with K-series | 2022 | Equipment World |
| Dozers 700, 750, 850 | 700L, 750L, 850L | By 2025 | Deere release |
| Small dozers 450, 550, 650 | Not stated | Mar 2023 | Construction Equipment |
| Backhoes 310, 320, 410, 710 | L-Series | Date not found | Deere fleet brochure |
| Excavators | G-Series, not L | Mar 2022; new generation Jan 21, 2026 | Deere release |
Sources as listed; Deere releases dated in the text below. Verified October 10, 2026.
A tier is Deere’s performance-level tag. A PIN is the product identification number, Deere’s serial number for a machine.
Where to jump if you are checking one machine
Loaders, dozers and backhoes, excavators, trailer weight and used machines follow in that order. Compiled tables live in John Deere construction equipment specs by configuration.
ℹ️ Safety Note: A published weight that varies by configuration, used to size a trailer or permit, can leave a machine over axle or gross limits on the road. This is general information; have a licensed carrier or certified rigger confirm weights for the actual machine.
G-Tier vs P-Tier vs X-Tier: what the letters promise

How Deere defines each tier
| Tier | How Deere positions it | Current example |
|---|---|---|
| G | Practically equipped, economical, light to medium work | 310 G-Tier backhoe |
| P | High production, advanced features, demanding work | 744 P-Tier loader |
| X | Deere’s “most innovative technology” | 644 X-Tier loader |
Source: Deere tier wording as reprinted by trade press (2021). Verified October 10, 2026.
A tier is not a model year
The 310 G-Tier backhoe sits beside the 310 P-Tier in Deere’s current lineup, so G does not mean old. This article does not rank one tier above another.
X-Tier is no longer only the 644
Only the 644 loader existed in all three tiers as of December 7, 2022 (Construction Equipment). The 850 X-Tier dozer, announced March 12, 2025, has joined since.
Wheel loaders: L-Series features carried into P-Tier

Deere’s wheel-loader page lists the 244, 324, 326, 344, 444, 524, 544, 624, 644 and 724 as P-Tier; the large loaders are the 744, 824, 844 and 904.
Compact 244, 324, 344 (May 2023)
Deere’s May 16, 2023 release says L-Series features carry over. Ride control is now standard where it was optional.
Utility 444 through 724
Deere’s launch text says these reflect L-Series features: a redesigned cab, parallel Z-bar linkage, EH (electro-hydraulic) controls and dual return-to-dig.
Production class 744, 824, 844 and 904
Deere’s baseline here is K-series, not L: dealer-hosted sales copy compares the 744 P-Tier with the 744K-II. The 904 is based on the 844L Aggregates Handler (Equipment World, 2022).
📋 Verified Spec: 744 P-Tier: 236 kW (316 hp) at 1,500 rpm; operating weight 54,920–58,709 lb depending on configuration, a 3,789 lb spread. EPA Tier 4 / EU Stage V. Source: Equipment World (2022); Deere.ca 744 P-Tier page. Verified October 10, 2026.
For bucket sizes by model, see John Deere wheel loader models by bucket size.
Dozers and backhoes: L-Series names, P-Tier badges
Dozers: 700, 750, 850 and the small 450/550/650
The 700, 750 and 850 are P-Tier dozers by 2025; Deere’s March 12, 2025 release announced “significant upgrades.” Their predecessors were the 700L, 750L and 850L; for the 700L, see 700L weight by undercarriage.
The small 450, 550 and 650 became P-Tier in March 2023, with a cab 14% larger than before (Construction Equipment).
Backhoes: 310 G-Tier vs 310 P-Tier
Deere updated its L-Series backhoes in November 2020 with a 4.5 L PowerTech EWL engine (EPA Tier 4 Final). Tier 4 Final is an EPA standard; P-Tier is Deere’s badge.
The 310 P-Tier is listed at 75 kW (100 hp). Two Deere-data sources give 310 P-Tier operating weights close to 1,000 lb apart, so neither is printed here; use the spec sheet for your PIN.
A design change is not a delete
Deere dropped the DEF (diesel exhaust fluid) system from the 450’s design in 2023 (Construction Equipment). That is a factory decision specific to that model.
📜 The Rule: 40 CFR 1068.101(b)(1) prohibits tampering with emission controls on certified nonroad engines and equipment. eCFR current to October 7, 2026; checked October 10, 2026.
✅ Do This: Have a certified heavy equipment technician or Deere dealer confirm the machine’s emissions configuration and weight by PIN before you buy or haul it.
Excavators: G-Series to P-Tier, then the 2026 redesign
Excavators skipped the L-Series
Excavators never had an L-Series. Deere moved them from G-Series to P-Tier, starting with the 350 and 380 in March 2022, and added the 135, 210, 245, 250, 300, 345, 470, 670 and 870 by December 2022 (Construction World; Equipment World).
New generation 210, 230 and 260
Deere’s January 21, 2026 release introduced redesigned 210, 230 and 260 P-Tier excavators in the 20-metric-ton class. The 210 keeps its name, the 230 is all-new, and the 260 replaces the 250 P-Tier (Equipment World).
| Item | Kilograms | Pounds (kg × 2.20462) |
|---|---|---|
| “20-metric-ton class” label | 20,000 | 44,092 |
| Reported new-generation 210 P-Tier operating weight | 23,560 | 51,941 |
| Gap | 3,560 | about 7,850 |
Source: weight as reported by HeavyQuip citing Deere (Jan 22, 2026): conversion by Axle & Haul. Applies to: new-generation 210 P-Tier.
Same badge, different machine: match by PIN
A 2026 210 P-Tier is not the same machine as a 2022 210 P-Tier, and the sources read give no serial breakpoint between them.
✅ Do This: Ask a Deere dealer to match your PIN to the right spec sheet, and a licensed carrier to confirm transport weight for that exact machine.
What the badge changes for trailer weight and parts
The federal baseline before you size a trailer
| Federal limit | Weight | Applies To |
|---|---|---|
| Gross vehicle weight | 80,000 lb (bridge formula can be lower) | Interstate System |
| Single axle | 20,000 lb | Interstate System |
| Tandem axle | 34,000 lb | Interstate System |
Source: 23 CFR 658.17, eCFR current to October 7, 2026. Verified October 10, 2026.
📜 The Rule: 23 CFR 658.17 sets those limits, and states may issue special permits beyond them for nondivisible loads, meaning a single machine that cannot be broken down.
🗺️ State Check: Federal numbers are the baseline. Each state sets its own permit thresholds, frost-law seasons and route restrictions; look up the oversize and overweight permit page of the DOT in every state on your route.
Operating weight is a range, not one number
The 744 P-Tier spans 3,789 lb by configuration, and a “20-metric-ton class” label hides about 7,850 lb on the new 210. Operating weight is also not shipping weight: fuel, attachments, ballast, tires and configuration change it.
✅ Do This: Give a licensed carrier or certified rigger your PIN and configuration, and ask them to confirm axle weights and permit needs.
🧮 Run the Numbers: After you confirm your configuration, run your model’s weight and dimensions in the Machine Transport Dimension & Permit Checker, with the PIN-matched operating weight, attachments and track or tire setup.
Parts fit follows the serial range
The sources read contain no Deere cross-fit statement. Match parts to the exact model and PIN through a Deere dealer.
Confirming P-Tier on a used machine before you buy
Badge, PIN and spec sheet: three checks
- Read the tier badge on the machine.
- Find the PIN; the operator’s manual for your model shows where the plate sits.
- Match badge and PIN to Deere’s spec sheet for that model and serial range, and check hours against service records.
✅ Do This: Hire an equipment appraiser or certified heavy equipment technician for a pre-purchase inspection. We are not a financial advisor.
Transmission assurance: 844 and 904 P-Tier only
Deere’s February 13, 2025 release covers warrantable transmission repairs for up to 5 years or 15,000 hours on 844 P-Tier and 904 P-Tier loaders with PINs ending 09263 or higher, purchased before December 31, 2026, which is 82 days after October 10, 2026.
| Machine hours | Share of warrantable repair covered |
|---|---|
| 0–10,000 | 100% |
| 10,001–12,500 | 50% |
| 12,501–15,000 | 25% |
Source: Deere release, Feb 13, 2025. Applies to: 844 P-Tier and 904 P-Tier, PINs ending 09263 or higher. Verified October 10, 2026.
The release does not say whether a resold machine qualifies. Ask a Deere dealer before relying on it.
🧮 Run the Numbers: Once the tier is confirmed by PIN, estimate value by hours in the Used Equipment Hour-Value Estimator, with the model, PIN and hour-meter reading.
John Deere P-Tier questions
1. What does John Deere P-Tier mean?
P-Tier is the middle tier of Deere’s G, P and X naming, announced at CONEXPO 2020, which replaced the generation letter.
2. Is P-Tier the same as L-Series?
Only on some lines. Wheel loaders, dozers and backhoes trace to L-Series; excavators came from G-Series, and Deere compares large loaders with K-series.
3. Is P-Tier better than G-Tier?
Deere positions P-Tier for demanding, high-production work, but G-Tier models such as the 310 backhoe remain current.
5. Is a 2026 210 P-Tier the same as an older one?
No. Deere’s January 2026 redesign kept the 210 name, so confirm the machine by PIN, not the P-Tier badge. Next step: have a Deere dealer match the PIN.
6. Which Deere excavators are P-Tier?
Deere moved excavators to P-Tier from March 2022, including the 350, 380, 470, 670 and 870; new-generation 210, 230 and 260 followed in 2026.
7. How do I confirm a machine is P-Tier?
Check the tier badge and the PIN, then match both to Deere’s spec sheet for that model and serial range. Next step: find the plate location in the operator’s manual.
8. Does P-Tier change operating weight?
Yes, by configuration: the 744 P-Tier is listed at 54,920 to 58,709 lb, a 3,789 lb spread. Next step: confirm your configuration with a licensed carrier before sizing a trailer.
9. What is the federal weight baseline for hauling these?
Interstate limits are 80,000 lb gross, 20,000 lb single axle and 34,000 lb tandem; special permits for nondivisible loads vary by state. Next step: use a licensed carrier and the permit checker.
10. Does the transmission assurance cover every P-Tier loader?
No. It covers 844 and 904 P-Tier loaders with PINs ending 09263 or higher, purchased before December 31, 2026; resale eligibility is not stated. Next step: ask a Deere dealer before relying on it.
Next steps for your machine
Your badge shows a tier, not a year, and the machine it replaced depends on the product line. Confirm the PIN before you trust any spec, weight or price.
The next question is what your exact configuration weighs and which trailer carries it. Start with John Deere construction equipment specs by configuration, then run the Machine Transport Dimension & Permit Checker with your PIN-matched weight, attachments and track or tire setup.
Hire out one thing: have a licensed carrier confirm axle weights and permit needs for the actual machine, and ask a Deere dealer to match the PIN to its spec sheet.





